The Charterhouse of Valsaint was
founded in 1295 by Girard, Lord of Corbiere in the district of the Gruyere, commune of Cerniat, the current canton of
Freiburg, Switzerland. In 1778 the government of Freibourgese patrician with the approval of the pope removed the Carthusians
from the Valsaint. The land was used to maintain the Bishop of Lausanne and the monastery itself was used to shelter Trappists
from 1791 to 1798 and Redemtorists from 1818 to 1824.
Eventually the facility was left in ruins by 1861. In 1863 the
Charterhouse was returned to the Carthusains and they rebuilt it. The principal buildings date essentially from the seventh
century. And the cells of the monks, the building for the lay brothers, vault and the external buildings date from the nineteenth
century. At the beginning of the twentieth century new cells were built to accommodate expelled Carthusian monks from France.
The Charterhouse even once sheltered the chapter of the general of the order.
Top of Page